ICON Logo ICON
"The ICON" Online Newsletter

THE ICON DECEMBER 2006 EDITION
 
<< PREVIOUS   NEXT>>

 

FOOLED YOU--I REALLY HOPE NOT!


by Chuck Davis,
Newsletter editor & webmaster
Sun City Anthem Computer Club, Henderson, NV


I am presenting the following illustrations to show that what you see isn't what you get! The first two purport to be a secure links (https://) to paypal.com. However, when you hover your pointer over the links, you will see the true link. If you have made recent changes to your account, you can safely open your browser and type in the PayPal URL which is http://www.paypal.com. The others eliminate the pretense by presenting a text link which is not the true link either.


(Click the above image to see a larger version.)

Another bummer contains 12 links-all to the same different URL. What you see is free.music.mp3, what you get is as you see in the illustration. What you see is not what you get!

These spammers know of the popularity of PayPal and its parent eBay! They are here playing on the possibility of a dispute over payment regarding a transaction.

These links may cause you to loose all of the money in your bank account quickly.

There is another spam scam going around promoting "undervalued" stocks touting the message that the stock should be bought now! They are trying to make you think that they are providing you with "insider" information so that you can make a killing! NOT! These are usually sent by third parties who are trying to manipulate the subject company's stock, and the company may not even know what is going on. You loose the money in your bank account a little slower!

Of the hundreds that I have received over the past months, none have warned of the stock going down! The news that you don't know as a potential investor is when the spammer started the promotion, and when the spammer is going to sell. Only the spammer knows. Short selling is much riskier!

If you are concerned about some of the spam you have received regarding stocks, this is an interesting site: http://www.spamnation.info/stocks/index.php If you would like to know about other spam, try their home page: http://www.spamnation.info/

Here's a good one. Subject: David has a secret about your Vegas Vacation. The spammer's name and address is stated as: "Vegas Online Inc. - 4598 River Glen Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89103 USA" There is a River Glen Dr. in Las Vegas, but not that number. The web site title is Toronto Pharmacy! The domain name rxsvintus.com in the link was registered through a Chinese company by the registrant giving a Fiji Island address. These liars want your business?

The "human engineering" involved in these messages reveals the nature of many of us. We tend to believe what we see and read without question. We are also a bit greedy. Enough of us fall for these come-ons to make it extremely profitable for the spammers.

None of the spammers want to help you! They have no interest in you! Their only interest is your money! Delete the messages and keep your money. You will be ahead of the game.


There is no restriction against any non-profit group using this article as long as it is kept in context with proper credit given the author. The Editorial Committee of the Association of Personal Computer User Groups (APCUG), an international organization of which this group is a member, brings this article to you.

 

<< PREVIOUS NEXT>>
 

Click the month below to view the Table of Contents for that month's issue.
March
February
January
Archives
Copyright © 2002-2011 Interactive Computer Owners Network All Rights Reserved
Site Design by Show Me Web Works
Contact Webmaster with comments about this site